Joy as 2 Greenfuel players make it into COSAFA squad

Roseline Mutare

Masvingo – In an exciting development for GreenFue FC family, two of their young players have been selected to represent the country in the upcoming Council of Southern Africa Football (COSAFA) games in South Africa.

The club’s administrator, Brandon Mvura, told The Midweek Watch that he was very excited and filled with pride as he received a release letter from Zimbabwe Football Association (ZIFA) for their two youngsters.

Washington Mapuwa.

“This is a monumental feat for our club and a testament to the hard work and dedication of our players and coaching staff, we are thrilled to see Denzel Washington Mapuwa (19) and Tinotenda Meke(21) from our stable getting this opportunity to showcase their talent on a regional stage,” said Mvura.

The COSAFA Games, a prestigious tournament featuring national teams from Southern Africa, will provide a valuable platform for the young players to gain international experience and exposure.

“This selection is not only a proud moment for the selected players but also act as motivation for the entire team, It shows that hard work and perseverance can lead to great opportunities, and we are confident that this will inspire our players to strive for even greater heights,” he said.

Tinotenda Meke.

The club’s head coach Saul Chaminuka wishes the selected players all the best as they prepare to represent the country in South Africa.

“We are proud of our boys and know they will make us proud on the international stage,” said Chaminuka.

The Zimbabwe national men senior men’s team is set to play in the annual COSAFA tournament from 12 to the 25 of June 2024 in Durban, South Africa.

Zimbabwe COSAFA squad:

Goalkeepers: Godfrey Chitsumba (Manica Diamonds), Bernard Donovan (Chicken Inn), Martin Mapisa (Dynamos)

Defenders: Andrew Mbeba (Highlanders), Brendan Galloway (Plymouth Argyle, England), Munashe Garananga (KV Mechelen, Belgium), Teenage Hadebe (Konyaspor, Turkey), Devine Lunga (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Shane Maroodza (Huddersfield Town, England), Godknows Murwira (CAPS United), Gerald Takwara (Ohod, Saudi Arabia)

Midfielders: Tawanda Maswanhise (Leicester City, England), Daniel Msendami (Jwaneng Galaxy, Botswana), Marshall Munetsi (Stade Reims, France), Joey Phuthi (Sheffield Wednesday, England), Andy Rinomhota (Rotherham United, England), Tivonge Rushesha (Reading, England), Jordan Zemura (Udinese, Italy)

Strikers: Tawanda Chirewa (Wolverhampton Wanderers, England), Tinotenda Kadewere (Nantes, France), Tymon Machope (Simba Bhora), Douglas Mapfumo (Polokwane City, South Africa), Walter Musona (Simba Bhora).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button