AccidentBreaking news

4 Chipinge teenagers perish in joy ride


CHIPINGE -Four Chipinge juveniles yesterday perished allegedly during a joy ride that occurred along Eastern Border Road while two are battling for their lives at Victoria Chitepo Provincial Hospital.

National Police spokesperson, assistant Commissioner Paul Nyathi confirmed the accident to The Midweek Watch.

The deceased are Troy Nyangombe (20) of Number 447/8 Gaza, Joyline Paraffin (18) of Number 630 Medium Density, Rutendo Chikwanda (20) of Number 8/56 Gaza and a fourth one who died on the way to hospital and has not been identified.

Nyasha Brendon Jani (20) of Number 24 Jourbert Street and Nothando Beto (27) were transferred to Victoria Chitepo Provincial Hospital where their condition is said to be critical while Joseph Mlambo (20) is admitted at Chipinge District Hospital, his condition is stable.

Circumstances are that yesterday at around 5pm, Nyasha Brendon Jani was driving a Toyota Corolla Axio registration number AFP 3187 owned by Pauline Jani of Number 24 Jourbert Street Chipinge along Eastern Border Road towards Chipinge Town.

Upon approaching the 7km peg along the Eastern Border Road, Nyasha lost control of the vehicle, swerved to the left and moved for about 54 metres with the left side wheels off the road.

Nyasha tried to drive back to the road but swerved off again to the right side before overturning several times and the car landed on it’s right side.

Nyangombe, Paraffin and Chikwanda were thrown out of the vehicle. Nyangombe sustained severe head injuries while Paraffin sustained head injuries, a broken left leg and arm. Chikwanda had a deep cut on the forehead and they died on the spot. They were taken to Chipinge District Hospital mortuary for postmortem

Nyasha, Beto and Mlambo were taken to Chipinge District Hospital.

The vehicle they were traveling in had a deformed roof and a shattered windscreen.

Investigations are underway.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button